The Botticelli Secret by Marina Fiorato

About the book

The third unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir. Florence looks like gold and smells like sulphur . . .In the colourful world of fifteenth-century Italy, Luciana Vetra is young and beautiful, a part-time model and full-time whore. When she is asked to pose as the goddess Flora for Sandro Botticelli’s painting La Primavera, she is willing to oblige – until the artist abruptly sends her away without payment. Affronted, she steals an unfinished version of the painting – only to find that someone is ready to kill her to get it back. As friends and associates are murdered around her, Luciana turns to the one man who has never tried to exploit her beauty, Brother Guido della Torre, a novice at the monastery of Santa Croce. Fleeing Florence together, Luciana and Guido race through the nine great cities of Renaissance Italy, desperately trying to decode the painting’s secrets before their enemies stop them.

Reviewed by Enthusiastic Readers Group:

An intriguing read with a feisty character as the main lead. A fast paced story for the most part. It very cleverly linked in with the painting and the story held all the group. In total – a very good read – great if you like a ‘Dan Brown’ story.

Star rating: ***/****

Read the book

Request to borrow a reading group set

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.