Costa Book Awards 2016

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK’s most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

Explore, reserve and read this year’s short list below

Novel Award

Days without end, Sebastian Barry

This must be the place, Maggie O’Farrell

The Essex serpent, Sarah Perry

The Gustav sonata, Rose Tremain

First Novel Award

The good guy, Susan Beale

My name is Leon, Kit de Waal

The words in my hand, Guinevere Glasfurd

Golden Hill, Francis Spufford

Biography Award

Dadland: a journey into unchartered territory, Keggie Carew 

Elizabeth: the forgotten years, John Guy

The return: fathers, sons and the land in between, Hisham Matar

I’m not in the band: a writer’s life lost in music, Sylvia Patterson

Children’s Book Award

The bombs that brought us together, Brian Conaghan

Orangeboy, Patrice Lawrence

The monstrous child, Francesca Simon

Time travelling with a hamster, Ross Welford

2 thoughts on “Costa Book Awards 2016”

    1. Hi Claire,

      Thanks for getting in touch. At the moment, we don’t have copies of the books nominated in the poetry category in our libraries, but these can be requested through our interlibrary loans should you wish to borrow them:

      Best Wishes,

      Hampshire Libraries

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.