No wait, No fuss – May’s collection

Do you love eBooks or eAudiobooks, but find you have to wait for a copy to become available? Well, you will love this collection of eBooks and eAudiobooks then!
Each month a collection of titles, some in both formats, become available to download. There’s an almost unlimited number of copies of each title, meaning there’s no wait, no fuss or reserving; just download and enjoy right away.

This month we have 5 eBooks and 11 eAudiobook titles available to download without any wait; have a look at the titles available, and find them on the BorrowBox app.
We’ll start with the children’s ones, so keep scrolling if you would like to see the adult titles.
These titles will be available from 1 May.

eBooks and eAudiobooks for children

The Boy who Flew with Dragons
by Andy Shepherd

Tomas can’t imagine life without his little dragon Flicker. He’s become more than a pet – he’s a friend like no other. And growing dragons on the dragonfruit tree in the garden with his friends Ted, Kat and Kai is the most amazing thing ever.

But Tomas has promised Grandad something – that he and his friends will let their dragons go back to where they belong. The only problem is – that isn’t such an easy thing to do. Not when they are still having so much fun with dragons Flicker, Sunny, Crystal and Dodger. Not when they still have to work out where the dragons’ home is, and how to get the dragons to leave. And not when Tomas is so close to uncovering the true story of the mysterious dragonfruit tree …

Available as an eBooks and eAudiobook
Narrated by Ewan Goddard
Suitable for ages 5+

Unexpected Twist
by Michael Rosen

Shona and her dad are moving house, and at Shona’s new school, the rules are pretty confusing; she keeps getting into trouble without realising! It’s a lot like how it is for Oliver Twist, that boy she’s reading about in English class.

After Shona is unexpectedly given a mobile phone, she begins to suspect there’s something fishy about the new boys she’s met. Where did the phone come from? And some gifts, she soon learns, aren’t exactly free …

Available as an eAudiobook
Narrated by Michael Rosen
Suitable for ages 8+

Children of Blood and Bone
by Tomi Adeyemi

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.
Now we rise.
Zélie remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. When different clans ruled – Burners igniting flames, Tiders beckoning waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoning forth souls.
But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, anyone with powers was targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope. Only a few people remain with the power to use magic, and they must remain hidden.

Zélie is one such person. Now she has a chance to bring back magic to her people and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must learn to harness her powers and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where strange creatures prowl, and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to come to terms with the strength of her magic – and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Available as an eBook and eAudiobook
Narrated by Bahni Turpin
Suitable for ages 13+

eBooks and eAudiobooks for adults

Over your Shoulder
by CJ Carver

Twelve years ago, Nick’s brother Rob was caught in a storm out at sea and drowned. His body was never found. When Nick met Susie at his brother’s funeral, he thought it was destiny at play.

Then Rob suddenly appears on television. He is a hero. He has brought down a terrorist who opened fire on dozens of restaurant diners. Everyone wants to know who Rob is, but he’s vanished a second time, without a word.

Nick is soon drawn into a multi-layered world of lies and corruption, and is forced to examine everything he once knew. What is Rob running away from? And why do the police want to talk to him?

Nick wants to find his brother but if he does, he also risks losing the woman he loves. Because Susie has her own secrets, and as the truth emerges, Nick finds it is those closest to us we should fear the most…

Available as an eAudiobook
Narrated by Daniel Weyman and Bea Holland
Fiction

Echo Burning
by Lee Child

Jack Reacher, adrift in the hellish heat of a Texas summer, looking for a lift through the vast empty landscape.

A woman stops, and offers a ride. She is young, rich and beautiful.

But her husband’s in jail. When he comes out, he’s going to kill her.

Her family’s hostile, she can’t trust the cops and the lawyers won’t help. She is entangled in a web of lies and prejudice, hatred and murder.

Jack Reacher never could resist a lady in distress.

Available as an eAudiobook
Narrated by Jeff Harding
Fiction

Like Flies from Afar
by K. Ferrari

Luis Machi has had enemies for a long time: after all, he’s built his success on dirty deals – not to mention his cooperation with the military junta’s coup years ago, or his love life, a web of infidelities. What’s new is the corpse in the boot of his car. A body with its face blown off, detained by a pair of furry pink handcuffs that Machi knows well . . .

Someone is trying to set him up, but the number of suspects is incalculable. Machi is stuck dredging his guilty past for clues and trying to dispose of the mystery corpse. But time is just another enemy and it’s running out fast.

Like Flies from Afar is a wickedly dark and thrilling ride through the corruption and violence of Argentina, embodied by a single degenerate man and one very complicated day.

Available as an eBook and eAudiobook
Narrated by Joe Lewis
Fiction

Lie Down with Lions
by Ken Follett

When Jane is caught in a deadly love triangle between rival spies Ellis and Jean-Pierre, she becomes entangled in a web of lust, hatred and deception, which sweeps all three of them from terrorist conspiracies in Paris to all-out guerrilla warfare in Afghanistan.
Jean-Pierre and Jane marry, and go to work as doctors in the Valley of the Five Lions to help the rebels fighting for their freedom against the Russians. Confronted by extreme violence and danger, Jane desperately tries to get out of the line of fire. Then help comes, unexpectedly, in the form of her husband’s greatest enemy . . .
Lie Down With Lions is an exciting tale of suspense and deceit from master of the spy story, Ken Follett.

Available as an eBook and eAudiobook
Narrated by Emma Fenney
Fiction

Nice Work (If You Can Get It)
by Celia Imre

Somewhere on the French Riviera, tucked between glitzy Monte Carlo and Cannes’ red carpets, lies the sleepy town of Bellevue-Sur-Mer. Sheltered from the glittering melee, it is home to many an expat – although it hasn’t proved as peaceful as expected.

Now an enterprising band of retirees has resolved to show it’s never too late to start afresh and open a restaurant. Snapping up a local property and throwing themselves into preparations, Theresa, Carol, William and Benjamin’s plans are proceeding unnervingly well. But when Theresa encounters a mysterious intruder, she begins to wonder what secrets the building is concealing.

Meanwhile Sally, an actress who fled the stage to live in quiet anonymity, has decided not to be involved. She’s far too busy anyway, shepherding around a gaggle of A-listers, including a suave Russian with a superyacht and a penchant for her company.

Available as an eAudiobook
Narrated by Celia Imre
Fiction

Shylock is My Name
by Howard Jacobson

With an absent wife and a daughter going off the rails, wealthy art collector and philanthropist Simon Strulovitch is in need of someone to talk to. So when he meets Shylock at a cemetery in Cheshire’s Golden Triangle, he invites him back to his house. It’s the beginning of a remarkable friendship.

Elsewhere in the Golden Triangle, the rich, manipulative Plurabelle (aka Anna Livia Plurabelle Cleopatra A Thing of Beauty is a Joy Forever Christine) is the face of her own TV series, existing in a bubble of plastic surgery and lavish parties. She shares prejudices and a barbed sense of humour with her loyal friend D’Anton, whose attempts to play Cupid involve Strulovitch’s daughter – and put a pound of flesh on the line.

Available as an eAudiobook
Narrated by Michael Kitchen
Fiction

The Other Woman
by Sandie Jones

The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones, is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances’s The Girlfriend and B A Paris’s Behind Closed Doors.
When Emily meets Adam she knows he is the One.
That together they can deal with anything that is thrown at them.
But lurking in the shadows is another woman, Pammie.
Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother.
There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants . . .

Available as an eBook and eAudiobook
Narrated by Clare Corbett
Fiction

The House at Riverton
by Kate Morton

Within its four walls lay a secret that would last a lifetime.

Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again.

Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet’s suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace’s mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could.

A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, The House at Riverton will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan’s Atonement, L.P. Hartley’s The Go-Between, and lovers of the film Gosford Park.

Available as an eAudiobook
Narrated by Caroline Lee
Fiction

Download the BorrowBox app and log in with your Hampshire Library card to enjoy these titles, and thousands of others!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.